​Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Synopsis
A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate… or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives. 


Review

When I first got this is honestly thought this isn’t a book for me after reading  the Synopsis.  However once I started  I really enjoyed it. 


The story is told about 2  seventeen year old socialites. Dacia and Lou are sent to visit their mothers family in Romania.  Born in America this is the girls first trip to visit their mothers home town.


 Lou’s father and two brothers accompany Lou and her mother, while Dacia and Aunt Kate (the third sister) travel via London.

 There is something sinister about  the Florescu family – and Dacia and Lou are trapped in Romania by their own family. 

The Florescus are an old family that protects another old family – the Draculas. 

This book is written in dual perspective.  We also get the story, as well as letters/diary entries  before each chapter. These really add to the story.

There is romance in this book. We hear about the Incident, with Dacia and Lord Johnny, from the beginning of the book. Lord Johnny appears later in the book, as one of the members of the Archangels, a group trying to stop Prince Mihai. He is accompanied by Theo Arkady, another young member of the Archangels. Lou and Theo have a bad start, but throughout the story, Lou’s feelings toward him greatly change, especially when she realizes that he isn’t disgusted with her abilities, and wants to help her.

The ending of this book isn’t perfectly wrapped up, so.I’m curious to see how the author takes the story to another level, in the next book.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s