The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles, #1)by Laurie Forest

Synopsis

A new Black Witch will rise…her powers vast beyond imagining.

Elloren Gardner is the granddaughter of the last prophesied Black Witch, Carnissa Gardner, who drove back the enemy forces and saved the Gardnerian people during the Realm War. But while she is the absolute spitting image of her famous grandmother, Elloren is utterly devoid of power in a society that prizes magical ability above all else.

When she is granted the opportunity to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming an apothecary, Elloren joins her brothers at the prestigious Verpax University to embrace a destiny of her own, free from the shadow of her grandmother’s legacy. But she soon realizes that the university, which admits all manner of people—including the fire-wielding, winged Icarals, the sworn enemies of all Gardnerians—is a treacherous place for the granddaughter of the Black Witch.

As evil looms on the horizon and the pressure to live up to her heritage builds, everything Elloren thought she knew will be challenged and torn away. Her best hope of survival may be among the most unlikely band of misfits…if only she can find the courage to trust those she’s been taught to hate and fear. 

Review

I was sent this as a Arc for a honest review.
Firstly let me start by saying that  I am aware that this book has divided a lot of people. The thing that I think is lost is that this is a fictional story about a place and characters that do not exist. Though the story does cover things like racism and  homophobia it is a story.
If it has gotten people talking about these issue and problems  then I think it is a good thing.

I actually liked the story and it’s characters though it did drag a little in the middle.

Elloren is young and unaware o

f what is going on in the real world but as the story progresses she goes from trying to fit in to realising that the world she is trying to fit in is not a world she wants to be apart of

It is a interesting concept for a story and it will be very interesting  to see what happens next. 

It is definatly worth a read. So dont be put off by the reviews give it a chance. 

​No Filter by Orlagh Collins

Synopsis

This is the story of THAT SUMMER … the one when everything changes.

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world – the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald’s family has secrets – and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she’s being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works. 

Grandma’s big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there’s no phone signal or wifi. It’s going to be a long summer … Until she meets Liam. 

When you’re falling in love, it’s hard to tell someone everything. Even if you’ve got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you’re used to, how do you deal with real love – brave and true – with no filter? 

The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Review

I was sent a copy of  No Filter by Orlagh Collins   for a honest review.

No filter is a beautiful YA novel and is the perfect  holiday/ weekend read.

Set  in Ireland.  Emerald is sent to stay with her grandma, after a family emergency. At first she thinks she’s going to hate it. She has been dumped in Ireland, her holiday plans have gone out the window and her friends are a whole other issue. The one positive is Liam Flynn.

This is a great story about disconnecting from the digital world  and living in the real world

The characters are very relatable as they are normal  everyday people.  The dream, party, and deal with family dramas. It is these aspects of the story that make the story and characters real.

This is a extraordinary debut novel
The plot was unpredictable and being written in the
POV  of Liam and Emerald you get to not only see their love unfold but you also see what is going on in their life’s.

I definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for a YA romance.

Thank you  Bloomsbury for sending me this book!